Saturday, June 26, 2010
What you should consider when choose a lawyer.
When you go to lawyers. There a few things you should know that most companies who have staff working in research at any time. One of the consultants appointed for your accident. You must comply with the lawyer. And when you go to companies to understand him. This will help you set up. Relationship with his lawyer and to help you in this case. Important that you explain the details to your lawyer. And other personal information. Many thing become more easily When you use a good relationship with your lawyer.You must also be comfortable enough to ask multiple questions to your lawyer, and understand what procedures he is following for the case. You accident lawyer will also keep you regularly updated on the proceedings, so that you don't have to call them regularly for updates.
The most important thing for getting low cost Texas auto insurance rates is to get lots of quotes online. Insurance companies give different rates to different drivers. In fact, the difference between the highest quote and the lowest quote you get is often hundreds of dollars. That's why it's so important to compare five or 10 quotes to choose the best plan and the lowest rate. Remember, don't just look at the rate since the plans might also be different. You need a plan that fits your needs, whether it's liability insurance, collision insurance, or a more comprehensive plan.
Other tips for getting cheaper quotes include keeping a clean driving record. If you have fewer tickets and fines on your record, the insurance company will give you better quote. Being a safe driver can add up to lots of money over the years. You might also go for a plan with a higher deductible. This means your out of pocket costs are higher, but you make up for it with lower monthly premiums. Another tip is driving a car with safety features like antilock brakes and airbags.
More detail : http://EzineArticles.com/?expert=Steve_Mackey
Texas requires that everyone who drives in the state be financially responsible for their actions. In other words, you are financially responsible for any auto accidents that you cause. In order to protect their financial assets, most people purchase auto insurance.
Like most states, Texas requires that you have at least coverage for injury to people hurt in an accident and damage to property resulting from an accident you cause. For injury you must have a minimum of $20,000 per person and $40,000 for all persons injured per accident. For damage to property, you must have a minimum of $15,000 coverage per accident. These minimum limits are also known as 20/40/15 coverage.
Although these are the minimum limits required by Texas state law, they may not be enough because you are still financially liable for costs above those limits. It's often a good idea to increase your coverages.
Make sure that when you shop for Texas car insurance quotes, to get at least three different quotes. Rates can vary quite a bit between companies. Decide ahead of time what coverages you need and then use those same amounts for each quote so you get a more accurate comparison of costs.
Thursday, June 24, 2010
It's important to emphasize the term "high risk" means different things to each insurer. One company may consider you a lower risk than another company based on the same criteria, and therefore will offer you lower rates.
One of the most important factors affecting your insurance rate is your past driving history. If your driving record shows a few demerit points, you will not be automatically categorized as a high-risk driver. Much depends on the reasons for which you received the points. For example, a few tickets received for failing to signal is generally considered less important than a single 6-point ticket for racing.
There are many other factors that influence your rating. For example, motorists whose policies are cancelled for non-payment or late payment are also affected. These factors weigh less than your driving record, but will still have an effect on your rating.
How to improve your risk rating
Making the transition from a high-risk category to a lower-risk one requires time and diligence. You'll need to drive safely (of course), and avoid receiving demerit points and tickets. You'll also need to pay your premiums in a timely manner to avoid cancellation. Depending on your driving record, improving your rating might take years. This is because your auto insurance company will want to ensure your future choices behind the wheel will not reflect those made in the past.
Article : http://EzineArticles.com/?expert=K_Phillips
The central tenant of the Michigan no-fault law is the actual "no-fault" provision found in the law. In almost all situations, a person is entitled to no-fault benefits, even if they caused the accident, so long as the person was involved in a motor vehicle accident.
These no-fault benefits are sometimes called first-party benefits or PIP (personal injury protection) benefits.
At the outset, Michigan auto law is really divided into two separate categories, first-party litigation and third-party litigation. First-party litigation is a claim against an insurance company for no-fault benefits. No-fault benefits pertain to economic damages, such as lost wages and medical bills. A third-party claim is a claim against an at-fault motorist for pain and suffering damages only.
It is important to understand that just because you do not personally have automobile insurance coverage does not mean you are not entitled to first-party benefits. Passengers, pedestrians, bicyclists, and drivers are examples of people entitled to no-fault first-party benefits. Even without auto insurance, in almost all situations you are still entitled to PIP benefits, as long as a motor vehicle is involved.
The no-fault benefits accident victims are entitled to are extensive. They include, but are not limited to, reimbursement for medical expenses such as doctor and hospital visits, lost wages, household replacement services, attendant (nursing) care, survivor's loss benefits and reimbursement for travel expenses related to medical care.
When opening a first-party claim for no-fault benefits, one must first determine which insurance company is responsible for the payment of these no-fault payment. This is called the order of priority. The order changes, depending on if the person is injured while an occupant of a motor vehicle or a non-occupant - such as a pedestrian or bicyclist. Either way, the first place to start is the injured person's own insurance. If that person carries auto insurance, that auto insurance company is responsible for no-fault payments. The search ends there.
However, if that person doesn't have auto insurance, one next looks to the accident victim's spouse or a resident relative who is domiciled with the accident victim and see who their insurance is with. If auto insurance exists at this level, that insurer is responsible for the payment of no-fault benefits. If no insurance exists at this level, the search continues. Ultimately, all persons who sustain an injury in a motor vehicle accident are protected by the no-fault act, even if this requires the State of Michigan to assign an auto insurer to the accident victim to cover the applicable no-fault benefits.
There is one lone exception to this rule. A claimant who has not purchased insurance for his or her owned vehicle involved in an accident is disqualified from receiving no-fault benefits, because under the law, each vehicle owner must insurer his or her vehicle.
To receive first-party benefits, an accident victim must first complete an Application for No-Fault Benefits. This application must be completed and returned to the automobile insurance company handling the first-party claim within 12 months of the date of the accident. This deadline is compulsory and an accident victim will not be entitled to receive no-fault benefits if the application deadline is not met.
Under Michigan law, a third-party claim is the typical negligence claim in which an accident victim seeks money damages because of the negligence, or fault, of another vehicle operator or owner. Although auto accidents happen for any number of reasons, typically they involve a driver who was not paying proper attention or was not using due care in operating the vehicle.
In a third-party negligence claim, the plaintiff may sue for pain and suffering damages as long as he or she meets the statutory threshold of death, permanent serious disfigurement, or serious impairment of body function.
The most common and litigated threshold requirement is the serious impairment of body function. This term has undergone numerous legal changes over the years, but essentially the phrase means that a plaintiff must show an objectively manifested impairment of an important body function that affects the plaintiff's ability to lead his or her normal life. An objective manifested impairment requires the plaintiff to show medical proof there is a physical basis for subjective complaints of pain and suffering. As a result, it is difficult to obtain pain and suffering damages for soft tissue injuries.
In addition to pain and suffering, negligent defendants are responsible to accident victims for excess economic loss, regardless of whether or not the accident victim meets the statutory threshold. Thus, even if a plaintiff does not have a serious impairment of a body function, he or she can still recover loss wages and replacement services that exceed the statutory maximum amount available in a first-party no fault claim, or lost wages and replacement services that last beyond the 3 years paid by the PIP no-fault insurance company.
This article is a brief summary of the Michigan no-fault act. If you or a loved one is injured in a motor vehicle accident, please contact an attorney so he or she can advise you on what benefits you may be entitled to.
Article Source: http://EzineArticles.com/?expert=Eric_Steinberg
How much automobile insurance should you carry?
The primary reason to buy automobile insurance, both liability and uninsured motorist coverage is to protect yourself and your assets. Your insurance company will never pay more in damages to you or to a person you negligently injure than the dollar amount of the coverage you paid for no matter how high a verdict there may be either against you or for you. >> see more detail
How to Find Affordable Car Insurance
It's becoming increasingly difficult to find a car insurance policy that is affordable enough and provides enough coverage. However, if you do your research properly, you'll definitely find the insurance that'll be just right for you. You will have to put in some effort though: canvassing, weighing the options, weighing protection as well as affordability. >> see more detail
What Should You Look Out For When Getting Cheap Auto Insurance?
When shopping for auto insurance, it is important that you seek out the best deals for your money. Many are under the impression that car insurance rates are determined by the overall quality of the automobile insurance that is provided. However, there are many companies out there that offer cheap auto insurance and offer quality benefits, and services. Here, you will be introduced to a few things that you should look out for when it comes to getting cheap auto insurance. >> see more detail
Does Car Insurance Cover Breakdowns?
Previously, if you wanted a decent breakdown policy you would have to take out an exclusive deal with one of the country's leading providers - such as the AA, RAC or Greenflag. However, now many car insurance companies offer breakdown cover as an add-on to their policies. Some insurers offer breakdown cover as an optional extra whereas others will include it as standard. If it is available as an extra then its worth using a comparison website to see how much it is adding to your policy >> see more detail